Q & APosted by Richard Morey 2018-01-10 02:04:29
Rule 6.1 states that in the Target
Zone the Tail Group has in increased chance of encountering enemy fighters, but
there is no modifier for Tail Group listed on MT-2.
A: That must be corrected. When I changed MT-2 from tail group to lead group I did not think about changing it in the rules also. MT-2 and MP-7 are correct. 6.1 should be Lead Group.
If required to spend an extra turn
in the target Zone due to MT-1e DR6, I assume the first turn is treated as a ‘normal
zone’ – no roll for Flak, IP or Bomb Run.
A: Yes, that is correct. I will put that on MT-1e.
TZ-2 Accuracy: Modifiers for ‘Box/Flight
Evasive Action after Bomb Run’ and ‘If Out of formation’ state “-1 &Radar
Flak is Inaccurate.” I assume the -1
applies to the accuracy roll for non-radar equipped Flak and the Inaccurate
automatically applies to radar equipped Flak.A:
That is correct. I will change it to read "No Radar: -1; Flak Radar: Inaccurate."
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2018-01-09 23:02:33
Q1. Should table CT-3 DR result that is currently 5-6 be 5-9 instead to reflect the possible +3 modifier with a roll of 6?
A1: I changed it from 5-6 to 5+
Q2. On table TZ-2 it took me a while to figure out that the modifiers for no FLAK radar was based on target weather. For some reason that wasn’t obvious to me.
A2: “Weather” added and it reads now IF NO FLAK RADAR: Lead Flight: +1; Weather - Poor: -2; Bad: -3; Very Bad: -5;
Q3a. The group run evaluation is cool, but I was confused by it. Application of the modifiers wasn’t always clear to me. Specifically, table TZ-5b says to check AP for each flight in my box with +1. Does this mean I ignore all of the modifires on TZ-1? It would seem to me like the target size would still apply.
A3a: Yes, ignore all modifiers on TZ-1. I like that you also used Target Size. I will add that.
Q3b. Also, do I add the percentages in the modifiers listed on TZ-5b to what I roll?
A3b: Do you mean TZ-5a? Those are added to the result on TZ-5a, under 250 or 500 feet. See 184.108.40.206 You find modifiers which you add to the dice roll, %-age or both. The %-age can increase or decrease your final score.
Q3c. What does “0” in the off target column of TZ-5b mean?
A3c: If TZ-5a, Off Target is 0 add %-age from Bombing by Boxes/Flight and Player (see bottom of TZ-5a).
Q4. Table MT-1a, what does note d? “Check information on certain counters.” mean?
A4: On page 5 in the Flight Manual you can find an explanation to this. Today I also changed d) to read “See General Information on Counters, Flight Manual, Page 5” which I hope makes note d) easier to understand.
Q5. A.7.2.6 note references in the flight manual look out of sync. It looks to me like the note references in the rules don’t match the table notes. Item 4 in the list associated with A.7.2.6 references note e) on table TZ-3a and talks about being Out of Formation. When I look at table TZ-3a note d) is the Out of Formation reference. Similarly, item 5 references note f) when it looks like it is note e) in the table.
A5: It has been corrected.
Q6. Wasn’t clear to me how to handle fighter support when I was knocked out of formation by FLAK as I was exiting the target zone. Do I use the support-out of formation, or the formation fighter support? I used the support-out of formation table.
A6: You used the optional table and were correct. Use CT-1d (Optional) Out of Formation Fighter Support when out of formation. If you use the Core Game Rule 7.45.10 Fighter Cover when flying Out of Formation Area Cover does not change. Close Escort Fighter Cover is not available.
Q7. Successive attacks in 7.45.7 of the rules references 220.127.116.11. Think it should be 18.104.22.168.
A7: Yes, that is correct. I have missed that. Has been corrected!
Q8. When I determine enemy fighter status and roll a Kaczmarek, does that mean the enemy fighter doesn’t attack as long as I’m in formation? In this case I was out of formation and b) on CT-2a seemed to infer that the plane pressed the attack with a Green pilot which is what I did.
A8: That is correct. As long as you are in formation the Kaczmarek will not attack. I added this status to increase survivability and to try to give the player a stronger sense of flying in a formation when enemy fighters can attack the other bombers also, not just the player’s ship. The Kaczmarek is a fighter who does not attack the player’s ship. When you are out of formation all bandits will be attackers and what you did on this mission was correct.
Q9. I assume that the FLAK modifier for the Mission and Target Details box comes from the target list. If this is mentioned somewhere I missed it.
A9: There are flak modifiers for some targets in the target lists in the FLAK Column, and also on MP-3, Initial Point.
Q10. Table MP-7. Does the “+1 fighter at XX” mean I add an additional fighter to the battle board when the initial fighter comes from the noted position if EAR is HEAVY?
A10: Yes, that is correct, if you are referring to note f, g, h, k and n. Box II, Tail group (note j) always has an extra fighter when attacks come from 5,6 &7.
Q11. Table CT-2a. Looks like it’s possible to obtain a result below 2 with the appropriate roll modifiers. Should the table show on the first entry to accommodate this?
A11: I have changed it to 0-3.
Q12. Table CT-2a. If I roll fighter pilot status of Kaczmarek does that mean the fighter does not actually attack your aircraft? The rules (A.7.30.1) seemed to imply that and that’s how I played it.
A12: That is correct. (See also #8 above.)
Q13a. If the attacking fighter has a 30mm cannon and I’m resolving the number of hits on TZ-3b do I resolve the area hit on TZ-3c or CT-5c. I used CT-5c.
A13a: CT-5c is correct.
Q13b. Also, how do you handle TZ-3b note (b)? I assumed all the hits were in the same are determined in CT-5c.
A13b: I did not think about this when it comes to the 30mm. All hits in the same area on CT-5c is correct. I have added that to note b).
Q14. TZ-5b. In the last paragraph, do you mean to say that you check AP for each Lead Flight in each Box?
A14: Yes, when bombing by boxes you make one AP check for each box and when bombing by flights you make one AP check for each flight. (TZ-5b has been revised. Please check the attached image.)
Q15a. My crew was forced to bailout prior to the bomb run by a fighter attack. So my aircraft is out of the game. Is it your view that I continue with the mission and roll for target damage with the rest of the group? I’m thinking yes, just for campaign continuity.
A15a: If you are shot down before or on the bomb run, use TZ-5b for the boxes.
Q15b. If so, do I roll for the lead bombardiers flight on TZ-4a and the rest of the flights on TZ-4b?
A15b: If you have created a Pilot and Bombardier for all Flight Leaders, you can use TZ-4a. If you use the Core Game rules, where you only have your own crew, you will use TZ-4b for all flights or boxes. There are no rules for creating other crews in B-26, but with table AM-3 (After the Mission Table 3) you can create lead crews for all your flights. It covers only Bombardiers and Navigators, but you can use it to create pilots too.
Q16. Half of my crew was returned to England by the underground after a successful bailout. Is it your intent for the player to carry them over to the next aircraft crew?
A16: I have now added to Bailout Table 2a (BO-2a) Bailout Landing: The procedure of returning a rescued airman back to England or sent back to the US to be rotated to another therater of war will not be covered in B-26. It could take several weeks or months for a rescued airman to return to England and in B-26 it will be simplified as follows and not entirely historically correct: Roll D6 for the number of weeks (1 to 6) it will take for the airman to return to England, and then another D6 to see if he will return to the group or be sent to the US for another assignment; 1-4: The airman stays with the group and will become a member of another crew, eg. the Player’s crew. 5-6: The airman is sent to the US.
Q17. I’m leaving the target zone and rolled for FLAK. I rolled a 9 on table TZ-3a under the accurate column resulting in a hit with two notes, d) and e). I don’t understand what the notes are directing me to do. Any hints?
A17: Notes d and e refer to rule A.7.2.6 Me 262 and the R4M.
Q18. Well, I’ve had the unfortunate honor of suffering a BIP FLAK hit while inbound to bomb the target in Mission 3. The BIP table, TZ-3d said to roll on TZ-3c. On TZ-3c I rolled a 9, Aft Bomb Bay/Armorer’s Station so I went to DT-7. On DT-7 I rolled a 12, superficial damage. Does that mean that I can ignore all of the ominous impact described in section 8.5.2 of the rules?
A18: What it means is that you roll on TZ-3c to see in which section of the bomber the BIP hits. You rolled Aft Bomb Bay/Armorer's Station and that entire area is affected by the BIP. (See rule 8.5.2 for closer information about the effect of a BIP.)
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2018-01-09 22:46:03
On the Example of Play:
-- The bomber took one Superficial Damage from Flak during Turn 4 as it made its bombing approach. Two questions:
Q1. Should the fighter intercept occur before the Flak attack since Luftwaffe fighters normally pulled back as the Flak barrage commenced?
A1: In B-26 fighters attack before flak on the bomb run, but after flak when you return. Not really sure how I can illustrate it, but think about a circle around the target, or better two circles. In the center of the inner circle is the target, and the flak zone is the inner circle. The outer circle is the fighter defense zone. Going to the target you first pass through the fighter defense, and then move into the flak zone and your bomb run. You are still within the inner circle after the bomb run and you turn your formation 180*. After flak has fired, then fighters will - or could - attack when you have moved out of the flak zone into the fighter defense zone.
Q2. Does the 1 Flak superficial damage marker remain on the board and is it added to the four Turn 6 SDs inflicted by the Second Wave Me 109G-6, or is it removed after the Flak run is completed? If it is added to the later SDs, then the Me 109G-6 should make a successive attack in Turn 6.
A2: When I read the Example of Play more correctly now, I noticed that I had missed the first superficial damage from the flak. It should remain on the board. Very sorry about that. Since there are a total of five SD counters on the B-26 now, that last 109G-6 would have came around for a successive attack. I will add Successive Attacks to the EoP. The Superficial Damage Counters stay on the board and are added together. When you have five Superficial Damage Counters on your B-26, you have Visible External Damage. These counters stay on the board like any other damage counters, but the first four can be removed after the 5th has been placed, since it is that last one which affects your mission in a negative way when it makes attacking fighters come around for successive attacks. I have had missions with only superficial damage, but I cannot recall now if fighters made successive attacks.
Q3. I'm a bit confused about the bomber's MG ammo consumption. Does an aimed burst cost only one ammo box to be crossed off? If it is a twin turret, would it be 2 boxes? I'm sorry but I couldn't find an answer to this in the flight Manual text, but I may have simply missed it.
A3: For twin machine guns you cross off one box only. Each gun has the listed number of ammo boxes, but since they fire in pairs, you will cross off only one box. I think I will add something about this under 7.32.0 Combat Table 4a – B-26 Gunner To Hit (CT-4a). In B-17:QOTS you have a +1 damage mod for twin guns, but in B-26 you have a column on CT-4c, Damage on Fighters for twin 50s. Added: Mark off one Ammo Box for each firing Single or Twin Mount Machine Guns on your Mission Chart.
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2016-05-19 02:02:39
Q: DT-5 DR11 then DR4 Oil Cooling –SMOKE! I assume this occurs but the second roll for a fire only takes place if the engine either has been or is subsequently hit.
A: Yes, each time the engine is hit after this damage, you must check for fire. This includes a second hit to this engine during this attack.
Q: Rule 7.39.3 on a roll of 51-66 fighter breaks off before next attack. Does this mean it still follows through with the successive attack currently being rolled, or does it break off before firing/being fired upon?
A: "For purely selfish reasons I chose the latter interpretation." That was correct! The fighter breaks off before the successive attack. It spent all ammo during the previous attack and must return to base, fuel is low or it may have been attacked by a little friend, it may have been damaged by another bomber.
Q1: Fuel Use - Even though the fuel use chart states ‘per engine’ I assume that with one engine out it still consumes fuel as per two engines to reflect additional usage by the lone engine to maintain speed. Otherwise, it should take two turns/zone if running on only one engine at ‘normal consumption.
A1: I actually have this in pencil on my fuel consumption chart and was going to change it later on the file. When you are flying on one engine the bomber uses two boxes. I suggest that you draw fuel from the dead engine first, because if the fuel transfer (on the B-26) is damaged you will not be able to transfer fuel between the wings. Using one box when flying on one engine is not recommended. The running engine must work for two and if you only mark off one box it is as if this is running on ½-power. Does this make sense? I have been thinking about this and am not sure, but what made most sense is that you use two boxes if you're on one engine.
Q2: I assume the two fuel boxes gained for jettisoning bombs and equipment does not accrue if the jettisoning was done to stay in the air on one engine.
A2: Good question, I am not sure. Lately, I have been thinking about changing this somehow or define "equipment" at least, to "ammo" and "guns" perhaps. What would the effect be if you throw everything on board off the ship when you're on one engine, how much would you gain? Perhaps not two boxes, but you'll stay in formation? I have to think about this one for a bit.
And a comment on the Expert's successive attack. His position (and aces) is not changed during the successive attack, only for the initial attack. The Old Hare moves also for the successive attack.
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2015-11-20 10:27:22
Q: Table TZ-4b - I am assuming that if you are on target you are also in formation as well.
A: If you are on target after you have modified the final DR on TZ-4b, you are in formation if the final result was on target.
8.9.5 If you have been Hit by Flak and the Formation is On Target modify the final result from 8.9.2 above with the modifiers on the lower half of TZ-4b. If the result is still On Target, you are in Formation and bomb on time. If the result is Off Target, your timing is off, or you may have been forced out of formation for a short while, and your bombs miss the target. (See TZ-5a and modification for Player.) If you are in formation and your Bombardier (Togglier) has been wounded and/or Bomb Release has been damaged add also the modifiers at the bottom of TZ-4b.
Q: Table TZ-4b - I also assume that if you press on to the target zone out of formation that this table is skipped and you are automatically off target?
A: Yes, since you don't have a bomb sight installed as a Togglier, you are off target.
Q: What is a skill level and what is considered a lead position?
A: Skill level depends on the number of missions a crew man has flown (see 11.3). A lead position is ship #1 in each flight. #1 in the lead flight is the box leader (as well as lead flight lead).
Q: Is it the flight or group aspect on the reverse of the Mission Sheet?
A: That is a view of your flight from above. (See 2.90.0 Formation Position.) I have added "POSITION IN FLIGHT" on the Mission Chart.
Q: When out of formation, there is no friendly fighter cover?
A: If you have Area Cover, you will still have Area Cover when you are out of formation. Close Escort is not available. (See 7.45.10 and Table CT-4d.)
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2015-11-20 09:53:08
Q: TZ-5a break down results
in even (10, 20, 30, etc.) increments yet have modifiers that can result in
halfway (15, 25, 35, etc.) results. Are
such X5 results rounded up or down for purposes of determining the qualitative
(Good, Superior) effects on target?
A: %-age is used to calculate the final result. These are rounded down.
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2015-10-12 23:39:06
Q1: Table MT-1d, last paragraph, LITTLE FRIENDS, there is NO Table CT-4d.
A1: Corrected. Should be CT-1d.
Q2. Fighter Special Notes on Table CT-b: Heinkel HE 162-A1 Rear MG/Damage & Special Notes, the sentence is truncated ..... if AC is ...............
BF 262 A-1 same as for Heinkel Note above.
A2: Corrected. "Good" his hiding under the line.
Q3: Table TZ-2 comment on Flak Accuracy (.... if Weak, Moderate or Strong.......) should be deleted as Flak Accuracy is used in ALL Intensity levels as indicated in the 4 Level Intensity explanations above it.
Q4: Table TZ-4b seems redundant as you use Table TZ-4a to simulate Lead's Bomb Sight Bomb Run anyway. Maybe re-examine table's purpose ?
A4: The fourth point is a good one. I have struggled with this issue for many years. I have tried to come up with a good idea which would work well to simulate the togglier and I actually have my doubts about this table (TZ-4b). However, I feel that it is the best yet, but it could be better, or simplified somehow to make it better and easier to use. The purpose of TZ-4a is to simulate the success of the entire formation (flight or box). TZ-4b simulates your own single B-26 in the formation, how damage and hits to your ship affect the final result. You use TZ-4b only if you have been hit by flak or have the damage listed in that table.
Q & APosted by Magnus Kimura 2015-10-12 13:45:36
Q1. What occurs after 5 superficial hits take place?
A1. After five superficial hits you have visible external damage. (see 7.39 Successive Attacks.) That means that even if your ship has no serious damage, it still has taken so much damage that it looks seriously damaged to the enemy fighters and they will single out your bomber and try to bring it down.
Q2. Is there a flak check in zone 1 due to navigation (if it occurs)? It seems that zone 1, being so close to Britain, a flak check would be unrealistic. Is there a possibility to make an exception to exclude flak checks in zone 1 ?
A2. No, no flak check in Zone 1 (even if it sometimes is "enemy territory." Zone 1 is friendly, but may see enemy fighters over friendly territory. ie. a modifier in the gazetteer.) I will see if I can add this tho the rules.